I will be presenting at the 32nd Annual New York State Foster Care and Adoption Conference

On Friday, May 21st, at 12:00 pm EST, 11:00 am CST, 9:00 am PST, I will be presenting at the 32nd Annual New York State Foster Care and Adoption Conference  – May 20, 21, 22 & 23, 2021 online in the AFFCNY.Network

The Intersection of Adoption and Addiction

Identity crisis—common among many adoptees—arrests healthy self-identity development during adolescence and it creates problems with attachment and trust. The more troubled one’s childhood, the higher the risk for later health problems, including addiction. Drawing from research, as well as using his own professional and personal experience, David B. Bohl will offer a discussion on the link between adoption and substance use disorder. Talking about relinquishment and adoption and looking at the causes and conditions that inform maladaptive actions such as addictive behaviors addresses the inherent shame of an adoptee and helps them recover from addiction.

Check out my pre-presentation interview with AFFCNY’s Chemene Vizzi here:

 

Recent Posts

False Gratitude

I was thinking about the movie The Graduate with Dustin Hoffman, where Hoffman’s young character, Benjamin, gets some advice about career upon his graduation (“One

Read More »
Post Categories

Sign Up for News, Events & Blog Posts