PLEASE JOIN ME FOR AN IMPORTANT DISCUSSION: ADOPTION AND ADDICTION

Please join me this Friday, November 20th, at 7:00 PM Eastern, 6:00 pm Central, 5:00 pm Mountain, 4:00 pm Pacific, as I present at the Adoptee Happy Hour virtual forum (Zoom conference).  There is no cost to attend.

ON ADOPTION AND ADDICTION

Register today!  This is a free event.  Space is limited to the first 100 participants.

Description:  Drawing from research, as well as using his own professional and personal experience, David B. Bohl will offer a discussion on the link between adoption and substance use disorder.

Target audience:  On Adoption and Addiction is geared toward a general audience (relinquishees, adoptees, and others in the adoption constellation) as well as adoption, social welfare, mental health, and addiction professionals. David will present a dialogue based on his personal experience—as an adoptee and a person with substance use disorder—that will be supported by his expertise as an Addiction Professional, including research citations.

Content/Objectives:

  1. The more troubled one’s childhood, the higher the risk for later health problems, including addiction.
  2. Identity crisis—common among many adoptees—arrests healthy self-identity development during adolescence and it creates problems with attachment and trust.
  3. What’s next? Talking about relinquishment and adoption and looking at the causes and conditions that inform maladaptive actions such as addictive behaviors addresses the inherent shame of an adoptee and helps them recover from addiction.

Lead Presenter: David B. Bohl, CSAC, MAC, Independent Addiction Consultant and Recovery Management private practitioner, relinquishee, adoptee, and person in long-term recovery, is the author of the award-winning memoir Parallel Universes—The Story of Rebirth. He is a member of the National Association for Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors (NAADAC), American Adoption Congress (AAC), and Concerned United Birthparents (CUB). David lives in southeastern Wisconsin and works throughout the country. He enjoys spending time with his wife of 36 years, and relentlessly pursues Blue Mind (that mildly meditative state characterized by calm, peace, unity, and a sense of general happiness and satisfaction with life in the moment) that comes from being in and around the water).

SAVE YOUR SPACE TODAY – NO CHARGE FOR ATTENDANCE. SPACE IS LIMITED.

 

#mentalhealth #sober #soberlife #sobriety #health #addictionrecovery #addiction #alcoholism #substanceusedisorders #recovery #adoptee #adoption #trauma #traumainformed

Recent Posts

Post Categories

Sign Up for News, Events & Blog Posts